Scoil Bhaile Nua

About Us

Scoil Bhaile Nua is a Catholic Gaeltachta school under the patronage of the Bishop of Galway, Michael Duignan.

Our Board of Management is responsible for the governance of the school. We have four mainstream teachers, a Special Education teacher, Language Support teacher, Language Assistant and Special Needs Assistant. Currently, we have 79 pupils on roll.

Bord Bainistíochta - Board of Management

Our Board of Management is highly committed to providing a school environment that enriches our children’s learning experiences.

They are constantly striving to improve and enhance our school, whether this is in developing school facilities, appointing caring and inspiring staff or providing additional services and resources.

Is iad baill an Bhoird ná: Our Board members are:

Patricia Coleman - Chairperson

Áine Ní Fhógartaigh – Secretary

Fr. Martin Whelan – Patron’s nominee

Kevin Ó Ceallaigh – Teacher nominee

Ian Kenny – Parents’ Nominee

Louise Howard – Parents' Nominee

Tomás Ó Cáinte – Member of the Community, Treasurer

Dr. Mary Davis – Member of the Community

Foireann - Staff

Our school has caring and dedicated staff. They nurture and encourage our children every day to achieve their best.

Naíonáin- Infants – Caoimhe Uí Fhátharta
Rang 1 agus 2 - 1st and 2nd - Nóra Ní Dhonncha
Rang 3 agus 4 - 3rd and 4th - Páidí Ó Fátharta
Rang 5 agus 6 - 5th and 6th - Kevin Ó Ceallaigh (Príomhoide Thánaisteach Ghníofach/Acting Deputy Principal)

Múinteoir Oideachas Speisialta - Special Education Teacher – Áine Ní Fhógartaigh (Príomhoide/Principal)

Cúntóir Teanga - Language Assistant - Treasa Uí Raghallaigh

Cúntóir Riachtanais Speisialta – Bernie Ní Thuathaill

​Rúnaí - Secretary – Emer Uí Chonghaile
Airíocht - Bríd Uí Chonghaile

Múinteoir Ceoil - Music teacher - Méadhbh Ní Eidhin
Traenálaí CLG - GAA Trainer - Tomás Ó Fatharta
Traenálaí Liathróid Láimhe - Handball Trainer - Maidhc Ó Duinn


Parents Association

Our Parents Association plays an active part in organising activities to support our children’s learning and also social occasions where our school community can get together for a chat and some fun.

Loretta Ní Ghabháin - Cathaoirleach/Chairperson 
Elaine Coyne - Rúnaí / Secretary
Ailish Gorman - Cisteoir/Treasurer 
Olivia Bn. Mhic Óda, Sally Uí Loideáin, Colie Gavin

Pupils’ Committee – Coiste Ómra

In recent years we have focused our attention on pupil well-being. Our Amber Committee works with Múinteoir Éilís to raise awareness about mental health issues and organise events to promote health and well-being.